Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Compiling NMM/ARW code for EMS system, upgrading WRF cores on your own, changing EMS scripts to suit your particular needs, and other modifications to original EMS distribution goes in this forum. These are officially unsupported actions.
surgeon
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by surgeon » Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:50 pm

surgeon wrote:There is no SNODsfc in 0.25 GFS. :( Or I can't find.
Total cloud cover var name is changed.
***Note - As of 11/13/2014 12Z cycle the variable SNOD was moved from "pgrb2b" files and into "pgrb2" files for all parallel resolutions.***

SNODsfc is back! :D

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by meteoadriatic » Fri Nov 14, 2014 6:32 pm

Yes and upgrade is postponed to January 2015 so we will not see master files probably up to then (any maybe not even then?)

dominic
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:19 am

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by dominic » Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:17 pm

Hello Ivan , I have created the two files but I can not dare Command
ems_autorun --dset gfs - para

gives me error , what I need to change ?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by meteoadriatic » Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:16 am

dominic wrote:ems_autorun --dset gfs - para
Must be no spaces inside "gfs-para".

surgeon
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by surgeon » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:33 am

I have empty CSNOWsfc if I use GFS 0.25°to feed my WRF ARW. Anyone else too? :(

gtrem
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:03 pm

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by gtrem » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:07 pm

Is there a way to download GFS PARA grib files for period that are older than a few days ?
I would like to reforecast some days but the ftpprd.ncep.noaa.gov only contains the last 3 days.

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by meteoadriatic » Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:24 pm

I do not believe so because parallel run is considered as testing product, not operational. I might be wrong though.

gtrem
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:03 pm

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by gtrem » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:07 am

Thanks for your response. And what about GFS-PROD ? Do you know a server where to download archives ?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by meteoadriatic » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:10 am

If you need reanalysis I would recommend FNL 0.5°:
http://nomads.ncdc.noaa.gov/data/gfsanl/

As far as I know this is the longest free dataset in that resolution available.

gtrem
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 3:03 pm

Re: Using GFS 0.25° grid dataset

Post by gtrem » Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:41 am

meteoadriatic wrote:
oib wrote:230 MB / file will need a lot of time to download, so at the moment I can't input the parallel run into WRF operational runs.
In fact, you can use it only for intialization, and then for boundary input files use normal gfs of gfsptiles. In EMS environment, use something like DSETS=gfs-para%gfsptile to do that (see chapter 7 of users guide).
oib wrote:To use it operationally I have to wait for the availability of the geographical tiling service from NCEP.
I hope the service will be available from december, but honestly I don't have any rumors about this.

But I sure will do tests with the new GFS data, so to be ready when the tiling service will be available.
Robert promised 0.25deg ptiles when he finish setting up new server (in about a month from now) :)

I am wondering why we can't use gfs-para for boundary conditions ? Will it be possible with the future version of EMS ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests