ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

All issues/questions about EMS v3.4 package, please ask here.
Post Reply
Larf
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:03 am
Location: Hamburg

ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

Post by Larf » Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:30 am

Hi there,
as stated in viewtopic.php?f=8&t=16&start=160
we now afforded a brand new work station to run simulations with wrfems.
2x10 cores and 256GB RAM. OS is openSUSE.
After installation I tried to run two different benchmark tests, they both stopped at the same point after starting the run: where wrf tries to create the initial and boundary files. In that moment the performance of the systems goes down to 0% (solely kernel operation). Same thing if I try to run a domain created with the domwiz. I don't even get an error message. )-:
Ems_prep works fine, though data is grabbed from a USB hard disk, since a Linux OS is not allowed in our windows based house net. So I had to give the domain directory a symlink to the external hdd which we would fill up frequently. Afterwards the wpsprd is full of NetCDF files.
Any peculiarities apart from that are unknown by me. Installation worked fine with the install.pl using something like a bypass connection into our house.
Did I forget to install anything else (java,..)?
Greets from Hamburg
Larf

Soseki
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:49 am

Re: ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

Post by Soseki » Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:48 am

Do you have an entry in your hosts file for your machine name and IP address?

Larf
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:03 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

Post by Larf » Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:55 am

No, I didn't. Thanks for the suggestion. I just added the machine name (Linux-kfo9.site) with 127.0.0.1.
Still doesn't work... >In fact no notable changes

Larf
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:03 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

Post by Larf » Mon Oct 12, 2015 1:37 pm

Hi again,
I just noticed that although EMS.profile says that there are 2 times 10 CPU (which meets the hardware I ordered), YaST tells me different with a total number of 40 cores. Hmmm?!?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

Post by meteoadriatic » Mon Oct 12, 2015 5:04 pm

Anything useful in wrfems/runs/<domainname>/logs after hanging?

Larf
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:03 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

Post by Larf » Tue Oct 13, 2015 7:34 am

Thanks meteoadriatic.
in the run_real.log file I find the note ssh: Could not resolve hostname Linux-kfo9: Name or service not known

Obviously I added the wrong machine name with Linux-kfo9.site
It's running know and it looks perfectly normal so far.
Thanks a lot!
(Again a thread you can successfully close :-)

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: ems_run stops at initial and boundary conditions

Post by meteoadriatic » Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:09 am

Yes, logs directory is always first place to look when something goes wrong :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests