WRF model with ICON grib data

Questions and other topics related to UEMS 18.
wrf_model
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:38 pm

WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by wrf_model » Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:08 am

Dears,

I try run wrf model with grib data from ICON model. Can i have help for it (Vtable, convert model levels from ICON model to pressure levels etc) ?

Thank you for your time!

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1565
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by meteoadriatic » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:32 am

Hello,

Forget it. We tried. There are no soil temperature and soil moisture available in required levels (mandatory for NOAH or RUC - pretty much all configurations) and there are only 17 vertical levels. We contacted DWD to see if there is anything that can be done, they said no.

Gippox
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:16 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by Gippox » Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:25 pm

Hello Ivan, have you tried also with ICON-EU?
Here ( http://forum.wrfforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=10596 ) is a user who says he has managed to initialize the WRF.
I have tried but there is a problem with the psfc variable ..

Using sfcprs2 to compute psfc
-------------- FATAL CALLED ---------------
FATAL CALLED FROM FILE: <stdin> LINE: 4900
troubles, could not find trapping x locations
-------------------------------------------
application called MPI_Abort(MPI_COMM_WORLD, 1) - process 0

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1565
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by meteoadriatic » Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:03 pm

I have same result ignoring soil data as that guy. sf_surface_physycs = 1 worked but NOAH can not. I'm not interested in such simulation, is it really garbage. And very few - 17 vertical levels, compared to something like 40 from GFS or 90 from ECMWF makes those simulation a joke. So I gave up. I would use it only if GFS suddenly become unavailable thing. Also as there are no ptiles or something similar, downloading whole ICON thing takes ages and then ungribbing data takes ages again. There are so many fallbacks with those data so, basically it is no-no.

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1565
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by meteoadriatic » Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:15 pm

Vtable without soil data if you really want to run it.

Code: Select all

GRIB1| Level| From |  To  | metgrid  | metgrid | metgrid                                 |GRIB2|GRIB2|GRIB2|GRIB2|
Param| Type |Level1|Level2| Name     | Units   | Description                             |Discp|Catgy|Param|Level|
-----+------+------+------+----------+---------+-----------------------------------------+-----------------------+
  11 | 100  |   *  |      | TT       | K       | Temperature                             |  0  |  0  |  0  | 100 |
  33 | 100  |   *  |      | UU       | m s-1   | U                                       |  0  |  2  |  2  | 100 |
  34 | 100  |   *  |      | VV       | m s-1   | V                                       |  0  |  2  |  3  | 100 |
  52 | 100  |   *  |      | RH       | %       | Relative Humidity                       |  0  |  1  |  1  | 100 |
   7 | 100  |   *  |      | HGT      | m       | Height                                  |  0  |  3  |  4  | 100 |
  11 | 105  |   2  |      | TT       | K       | Temperature       at 2 m                |  0  |  0  |  0  | 103 |
  52 | 105  |   2  |      | RH       | %       | Relative Humidity at 2 m                |  0  |  1  |  1  | 103 |
  33 | 105  |  10  |      | UU       | m s-1   | U                 at 10 m               |  0  |  2  |  2  | 103 |
  34 | 105  |  10  |      | VV       | m s-1   | V                 at 10 m               |  0  |  2  |  3  | 103 |
   1 |   1  |   0  |      | PSFC     | Pa      | Surface Pressure                        |  0  |  3  |  0  |   1 |
   2 | 102  |   0  |      | PMSL     | Pa      | Sea-level Pressure                      |  0  |  3  |  1  | 101 |
  81 |   1  |   0  |      | LANDSEA  | proprtn | Land/Sea flag (1=land, 0 or 2=sea)      |  2  |  0  |  0  |   1 |
   7 |   1  |   0  |      | SOILHGT  | m       | Terrain field of source analysis        |  0  |  3  |  5  |   1 |
  11 |   1  |   0  |      | SKINTEMP | K       | Skin temperature                        |  0  |  0  |  0  |   1 |
  65 |   1  |   0  |      | SNOW     | kg m-2  | Water equivalent snow depth             |  0  |  1  | 60  |   1 |
  65 |   1  |   0  |      | SNOWH    | m       | Physical Snow Depth                     |  0  |  1  | 11  |   1 |
-----+------+------+------+----------+---------+-----------------------------------------+-----------------------+
sf_surface_physics = 1 and it will run.

pdjakow
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:30 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by pdjakow » Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:29 pm

Did you try to run UEMS with different model than GFS? ARPEGE, COSMO-DE?

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1565
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by meteoadriatic » Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:59 pm

I didn't. I use my own system. In UEMS I don't know what has to be changed in order to use for input something unsupported directly out of the box but here are people that probably did it.

Gippox
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:16 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by Gippox » Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:42 pm

meteoadriatic wrote:
Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:03 pm
I have same result ignoring soil data as that guy. sf_surface_physycs = 1 worked but NOAH can not. I'm not interested in such simulation, is it really garbage. And very few - 17 vertical levels, compared to something like 40 from GFS or 90 from ECMWF makes those simulation a joke. So I gave up. I would use it only if GFS suddenly become unavailable thing. Also as there are no ptiles or something similar, downloading whole ICON thing takes ages and then ungribbing data takes ages again. There are so many fallbacks with those data so, basically it is no-no.
Mmmmm very bad thing ..

Recently i used gdas/fnl 0.25 degree dataset (available up to 9 hours) instead of gfs 0.25 degree to initialize a run.
http://nomads.ncep.noaa.gov/cgi-bin/filter_gdas_0p25.pl
There are slight differences but also disadvantages (the grib2 are heavy and come out later).

"The FNLs are made with the same model which NCEP uses in the Global Forecast System (GFS), but the FNLs are prepared about an hour or so after the GFS is initialized. The FNLs are delayed so that more observational data can be used. The GFS is run earlier in support of time critical forecast needs, and uses the FNL from the previous 6 hour cycle as part of its initialization."

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1565
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by meteoadriatic » Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:37 pm

How much time delay did you found between GFS and FNL? And is that delay consistent over time or vary much?

Gippox
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:16 am

Re: WRF model with ICON grib data

Post by Gippox » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:09 pm

2.75-3 hours later. the complete gdas data window is + - 3 h from the analysis time, gfs uses a part to initialize it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest