2m temperature Alps

Forum dedicated to older versions of EMS package (WRFEMS v3.2, v3.1 or older). Support is user-to-user based, so please help others if you can.
Antonix
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by Antonix » Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:27 am

ok!
Then, the cluster does not have the X server.
For this reason, I create the domain on laptop (27 km -3 -9 km,whith modis 2m, 30s, 30s).
Then I move on the cluster and use the command: ems_domain --localize --modis --nogres.

I knew the problem was the resolution of the topography, so I say to interpolate ALWAYS on the topography 30 seconds.

in universities use the WRF "original", and use geogrib.exe and namelist.wps handwritten.

the domain is important as I do??
what do you recommend??
which version??

;-)

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by meteoadriatic » Sat Apr 21, 2012 10:41 am

Ok let's say it's ok.

Just we don't have any modis data here in Europe so if you specify modis, it falls back to default usgs as far as I know. But I doubt the problem is in domain, it is just as it is...

Try to plot hgtsfc in GrADS as map and see the topografy you are getting in model... how does it correlates with real topografy...

Antonix
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by Antonix » Sat Apr 21, 2012 3:24 pm

Hello!

I did some tests

I am attaching 2 images.
a) http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/220/ght24.png/
b) http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/151/ght33.png/
the first is generated by a run 3 km
the second by a 4 km run

I ask:

1) it is normal that there is a very strong shift of the entire array to the west??

2) the Aosta Valley is looks very good, and the point (in the Aosta valley, where it is located) is about 600 meters m.s.l, and it is visible in the black dot.
Grads because I do not extract (in txt) of 600 m??
which uses projection Grads???
as a datum???
:?:
you who have experience on?

Antonix
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by Antonix » Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:25 am

ok!
improved results ...
15 km to 3km (3os+30s)
Aosta is now 700 meters ...
can fit.
However, temperatures are still very low.
I think it's because of pbl scheme or another.
I do some tests, make it more dense layers vertical to the ground (with the old dwiz), and you upgrade.

wrf_model
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by wrf_model » Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:39 pm

Antonix wrote:ok!
improved results ...
15 km to 3km (3os+30s)
Aosta is now 700 meters ...
can fit.
However, temperatures are still very low.
I think it's because of pbl scheme or another.
I do some tests, make it more dense layers vertical to the ground (with the old dwiz), and you upgrade.
I think is better Mellor-Yamada-Janjic for pbl scheme and RRTM scheme for long wave radiation, Goddard scheme for short wave radiation (ARW core).

Antonix
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by Antonix » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:37 pm

ok!
now try!
now I use :
cu : 2,2
Mp WDM6
PBL Yonsei University
surface 3
and RRTMG for long e short radiation


I'm going to try to eliminate the nesting!
and work with a domain europe to 15 km and 3 km of a domain of Italy, separated!
in this way try to eliminate the errors at the edges.
The edges are now very close to Aosta (the Alps) and especially the northern border, is all included in the Alps.
these two situations are not recommended

ps. I deal with oceanography and oceanographic models, and not work a lot with the weather models.
:D

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by meteoadriatic » Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:41 pm

Keep us informed, I hope you will find solution that works OK.

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by meteoadriatic » Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:59 pm

meteoadriatic wrote:Just we don't have any modis data here in Europe so if you specify modis, it falls back to default usgs as far as I know.
I have to correct myself here, yes there is MODIS landuse 30s data for Europe. I just tried and it is different than USGS, much different.

Antonix
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by Antonix » Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:15 am

yes!
but I do not know what is best!
surely the mask, the ground-water, is more precise than modis

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: 2m temperature Alps

Post by meteoadriatic » Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:46 am

I know that USGS sucks for Croatia area. I did my own modifications and it improved much. For example, there is lot of missing islands at eastern Adriatic coast in USGS, even big ones. I will look at modis bit more, but it already looks to me better.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests