A hack to output new fields in ARW 3.4

You know something useful, tips&tricks, have some unofficial documentation...? Please share your knowledge with us in this section of EMS forum. * * * Please DON'T open topics with questions in this section! * * *
Post Reply
smartie
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:34 am

A hack to output new fields in ARW 3.4

Post by smartie » Thu Jun 13, 2013 9:33 pm

NB ARW ONLY! In WRF 3.4 it is possible to add input/output fields to the various streams, however WRFEMS 3.4 is not fully set up to do this. Below is a hack to enable this:
-first read wrfems/conf/ems_run/arw/run_io.conf.README

Create your my_iofields_list.txt and place it in wrfems/data/tables/wrf/
Here is my example:

Code: Select all

+:h:1:UST,OLR
+:h:0:E,F
I want to add UST (friction velocity) and Outgoing Long wave Radiation (OLR)to the auxhist1 stream (1) and
Coriolis Factor to the main history output stream (0).
We now have to call this file properly at runtime:
Step 1
edit wrfems/data/tables/wrf/namelist.arw
add these lines in &time_control section

Code: Select all

 iofields_filename                   = "my_iofields_list.txt"
 ignore_iofields_warning             = T
Step 2
open wrfems/strc/ems_run/Models/WRF/WRFrun.pm and add 'my_iofields'_list.txt to the symlink calls at lines 242 and 509 so these read

Code: Select all

    my @tables = ($core =~ /nmm/i) ? qw(ETAMPNEW_DATA ETAMPNEW_DATA.expanded_rain RRTM_DATA GENPARM.TBL LANDUSE.TBL
                                        SOILPARM.TBL VEGPARM.TBL MPTABLE.TBL tr49t67 tr49t85 tr67t85 gribmap.txt
                                        grib2map.tbl co2_trans my_iofields_list.txt)

                                   : qw(ETAMPNEW_DATA ETAMPNEW_DATA.expanded_rain RRTM_DATA RRTMG_LW_DATA RRTMG_SW_DATA
                                        CAM_ABS_DATA CAM_AEROPT_DATA ozone.formatted ozone_lat.formatted ozone_plev.formatted
                                        GENPARM.TBL LANDUSE.TBL SOILPARM.TBL URBPARM.TBL VEGPARM.TBL MPTABLE.TBL tr49t67
                                        tr49t85 tr67t85 gribmap.txt grib2map.tbl my_iofields_list.txt);
Step 3 : in your run directory/conf/ems_run/run_namelist.conf add these lines at the bottom

Code: Select all

#
 TIME_CONTROL:iofields_filename                   = "my_iofields_list.txt"
 TIME_CONTROL:ignore_iofields_warning             = T
and run as normal- the fields should be added to the history files.

David

bsekirarski
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:51 am

Re: A hack to output new fields in ARW 3.4

Post by bsekirarski » Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:34 pm

I apply the patch for Coriolis for WRF 3.4 >>> Still I have this message
AFTER STARTING A RIP ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Data is recognized as WRF data.

SIMULATION_START_DATE exists, use it as start_date
start_date=2014-01-10_00:00:00
Welcome to your friendly RIPDP (V4.6) output file !
Note: RIPDP will process all times encountered.
Found QSNOW variable, set iice = 1

**** Reading model output at
forecast time= 0.00000000
(YYMMDDHH = 14011000)
Processing basic variables.

NetCDF error in ripdp_wrfarw. Marker = 78.0000000
NetCDF: Variable not found
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Any advice pls.

bsekirarski
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 8:51 am

Re: A hack to output new fields in ARW 3.4

Post by bsekirarski » Sun Jan 12, 2014 6:29 pm

Hack IS OK. It was my mistake!
Thanks.

robncyns
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:37 am

Re: A hack to output new fields in ARW 3.4

Post by robncyns » Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:38 am

Thanks for the Hack; it works great for the first Domain. How or what changes do i have to make to get this to flow into sub-domains?

Thanks

Rob

smartie
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:34 am

Re: A hack to output new fields in ARW 3.4

Post by smartie » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:07 pm

You need to add an entry for each domain in run_namelist.conf

Code: Select all

     iofields_filename = "my_iofields_list.txt", "my_iofields_list.txt", .... 
I suppose you can have different stream output settings for each domain from tailored *list.txt s- but I haven't tried that.

robncyns
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:37 am

Re: A hack to output new fields in ARW 3.4

Post by robncyns » Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:25 pm

Many Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests