Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

With soon inclusion of the NEMS NMM-B model into the EMS package, WRF EMS changes its name and becomes UEMS.
Gippox
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:16 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by Gippox » Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:29 am

Hi Ivan
i modified ems with new ungrib.exe program, new Vtable.GFS, and METGRID.TBL.ARW (EMS 3.4.1) but if i use combine GRIB2 files A+B, WRF-EMS crashes. This does not happen if i use gfsp25ptile.

Does it happen to you ? :?

Gippox

JMeans
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:34 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by JMeans » Sat Jul 22, 2017 12:55 pm

I have exactly the same problem with the update as apextreme. Tried it on a couple different systems with the same result.

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by meteoadriatic » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:11 pm

Gippox wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:29 am
Hi Ivan
i modified ems with new ungrib.exe program, new Vtable.GFS, and METGRID.TBL.ARW (EMS 3.4.1) but if i use combine GRIB2 files A+B, WRF-EMS crashes. This does not happen if i use gfsp25ptile.

Does it happen to you ? :?

Gippox
It appears that does not work with NOMADS grib filter at all, but with STRC ptiles does. Segmentation faults with NOMADS tiles (regardless I use only standard set or standard + b).

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by meteoadriatic » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:50 pm

Soil temperature field is not interpolated good, it gets values of 0 kelvins at places when NOMADS files are used, but does not when STRC files are used.

Something is obviously wrong with NOMADS files. I'm trying to find out what and is there a way to fix this.

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by meteoadriatic » Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:10 pm

OK,

There is new variable in grib filter, called LANDN. If you don't download it, soil temperatures are interpolated from wrong mask. Please include that one in your download and try again. It works for me now.

meteo60
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:50 pm

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by meteo60 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:56 pm

meteoadriatic wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:12 am
Does this update fixes SE_MAXW_LEVEL and USE_TROP_LEVEL problem?
yes it's ok

Gippox
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:16 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by Gippox » Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:24 pm

meteoadriatic wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:10 pm
OK,

There is new variable in grib filter, called LANDN. If you don't download it, soil temperatures are interpolated from wrong mask. Please include that one in your download and try again. It works for me now.
It work also for me now.
I have also updated geogrid and metgrid (http://www2.mmm.ucar.edu/wrf/users/wpsv ... b-3.9.html).

Gippox

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by meteoadriatic » Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:51 pm

Gippox wrote:
Sun Jul 23, 2017 6:24 pm
I have also updated geogrid and metgrid (http://www2.mmm.ucar.edu/wrf/users/wpsv ... b-3.9.html).

Gippox
Don't forget to download new terrestrial data sets for latest geogrid, you will probably want to use them.

Gippox
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:16 am

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by Gippox » Sun Jul 23, 2017 9:53 pm

Tanks ! ;)

j0nes2k
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:06 pm

Re: Changes needed for GFS Update 2017?

Post by j0nes2k » Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:56 am

norulz wrote:
Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:28 am
There is a new update on uems server: 15.99.5 http://ems3.comet.ucar.edu/uems/releases/
Has anyone tested it?
After update I did experience a number of unexplained run failures but with no log files kept - only the usual email message. Each of these failures started up OK on a retrial. I have no idea what happened.
I am experiencing the same, but I am currently still on 15.99.2. My runs fail, and I do not get any diagnostic messages. Is this problem solved in 15.99.5?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests