DWIZ: edit an existing domain

All issues/questions about EMS v3.4 package, please ask here.
Post Reply
lcana
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:34 pm

DWIZ: edit an existing domain

Post by lcana » Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:20 pm

Hi all,

does anyone succeeded in editing an existing domain with Dwiz? I've tried but the program crashes (Can't edit existing domain). How could I add a nested domain to an existing one without the use of Dwiz?

Best,

Luis

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1567
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: DWIZ: edit an existing domain

Post by meteoadriatic » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:42 pm

lcana wrote:Hi all,

does anyone succeeded in editing an existing domain with Dwiz? I've tried but the program crashes (Can't edit existing domain). How could I add a nested domain to an existing one without the use of Dwiz?

Best,

Luis
Manually, you need to edit wrfems/runs/domain/static/namelist.wps to suit your needs, followed by command

Code: Select all

ems_domain.pl --localize domainname 
That will do the trick but you need to know what to do in namelist.wps. You can find all required knowledge here:
http://www2.mmm.ucar.edu/wrf/users/docs ... n_of_the_1

Sometime small readjustments will be needed later if you find that your guessed numbers do not fit area well. Of course, after each change od namelist.wps you need to recreate domain with above command.

Good luck!

lcana
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: DWIZ: edit an existing domain

Post by lcana » Thu Feb 05, 2015 11:16 am

Thanks!

All went fine. BTW, does anybody knows why Dwiz can't edit an existing domain?

Best,

Luis

hofovema
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:37 pm

USING DWIZ command

Post by hofovema » Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:49 pm

Dear All,
I am trying to install Wrfems on fedora 21 and everything went well. However, when I am trying to create a domain using dwiz as here below:

I am in (/usr/wrfems/runs)>>
>>dwiz (enter)
it is telling me
Bash: the command is not found
I am new to Linux and unix command but very optimistic that I can easily get what is supposed to be done with minimal help.
Can anybody assist me on how I can create my own domain using dwiz.

Best regards,
Charles

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1567
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: USING DWIZ command

Post by meteoadriatic » Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:29 pm

>>dwiz (enter)
it is telling me
Bash: the command is not found
Hello,
I am trying to install Wrfems on fedora 21 and everything went well.
Well, it looks it didn't.

Let's first be clear; do you try to run dwiz logged in as user that you gave wrfems ownership during installation? If yes, then please, as that user, execute this:

Code: Select all

env | grep EMS_HOME
And, paste here output (if anything at all comes out from command). This will help to troubleshoot further.

hofovema
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: DWIZ: edit an existing domain

Post by hofovema » Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:58 pm

Ma be this is where my challenge is because i am logged in as root ans not user then i tried to ibstall the package and it did not ask me for another password although i used usr as my new nser.
I will try the command given so that i can give you a clear picture of what i have done.
Thank you for quick response
Charles Vanya

hofovema
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:37 pm

Re: DWIZ: edit an existing domain

Post by hofovema » Sun Apr 05, 2015 8:13 pm

I tried to give the command given by you and this is what I got.
(vanya$:>>)cd /usr
(vanya$:>>)env | grep EMS_HOME

(vanya$:>>)cd /usr/wrfems/
(vanya$:>>)env | grep EMS_HOME
(vanya$:>>)
Nothing else.

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1567
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: DWIZ: edit an existing domain

Post by meteoadriatic » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:47 am

hofovema wrote:Ma be this is where my challenge is because i am logged in as root
Yes, this is most probably origin of all your problems.

First, check who is owner of wrfems directory:

Code: Select all

ls -all /usr1/wrfems
(or, wherever your wrfems directory is).

After you find out who is owner (I guess, third column), then log in as that user and then try to run my command from above post.

Post Reply