Copying domains

Questions and other topics related to UEMS 18.
Post Reply
JMeans
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:34 am

Copying domains

Post by JMeans » Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:03 pm

I apologize for what I think is a very basic question. Say I have created a domain (with or without subdomains) and I want to copy it to a new name, perhaps so that I can run it separately or maybe I just want to tweak it a little bit. What is the best way of doing this? It would be great if dwiz had a Save as... function, but I don't think that exists. I also don't think it's as simple as just copying the run directory to a different directory with a different name.

If you could tell me the preferred method of copying a run domain I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Jim

norulz
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 1:43 pm

Re: Copying domains

Post by norulz » Sat Jul 06, 2019 9:11 am

Hi,

Simply create a new domain using the command line ems_domain --create ...
Then copy the namelist.wps file from the static folder in your old domain to the static folder in the new domain (overwrite the existing namelist.wps).
Then finally run

Code: Select all

ems_domain --localize
on the new domain.

JMeans
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:34 am

Re: Copying domains

Post by JMeans » Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:23 am

That does seem very simple, thank you!

Post Reply