How to import high resolution terrain

Questions and other topics related to UEMS 18.
Post Reply
JMeans
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:34 am

How to import high resolution terrain

Post by JMeans » Tue Nov 19, 2019 4:58 pm

I need to create a geography data set that is higher resolution (maybe much higher) than the standard 30 second data sets included with WRF. I think this topic has been covered in bits and pieces in this forum before, but I haven't been able to find a systematic description of how to create one and use it in WRF UEMS. If someone can point me to the best places to look for this procedure, I would appreciate it. If anyone is wondering, I am running a high resolution model that includes the Grand Canyon, so I would like to get down to 30 meter or even 10 meter geographic resolution if I can.

Thanks.

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1601
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to import high resolution terrain

Post by meteoadriatic » Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:46 am

There was a guide that I used, but I cannot find it online anymore, it looks it dissapeared. However as I downloaded it, I'm putting it for you on my server

http://file.meteoadriatic.net/JMeans/guide.pdf

As it seems removed from original location, I'm not sure if author wants it to be online anymore so I will remove it after you affirm that you downloaded it. In a case anyone else need it let me know again.

Apart from that, please consider this paper:
https://www.envidat.ch/dataset/30c985c3 ... tation.pdf

Now I didn't used EMS for that so there might be small differences somewhere, who knows.

JMeans
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:34 am

Re: How to import high resolution terrain

Post by JMeans » Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:52 pm

Thank you Meteoadriatic. I have downloaded both of those documents now, I will take a look a them.

Vallejos
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:48 am

Re: How to import high resolution terrain

Post by Vallejos » Tue Dec 17, 2019 1:28 pm

Who was the original author anyway? I'm presuming no one from this community?

JMeans
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:34 am

Re: How to import high resolution terrain

Post by JMeans » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:16 pm

So I tried to follow the procedure in the guide that meteoadriatic shared, and it seemed to work when I used the high resolution terrain for a new subdomain. Initially I got some errors apparently due to CFL violations, but I decreased the time step and it ran to completion (although very slowly). The results were encouraging, but suggested that we needed to go to still higher resolution. When I did that, I got the following error when I tried to run:

ERROR: Mismatch between namelist and wrf input files for dimension NUM_LAND_CAT

Apparently it 28 for one and 21 for the other. Anyone have any idea why I got this error when I went from 4 nests to 5 and not from 3 nests to 4?

Thanks

EDIT: After going through the procedure a few more times, it appears to be running now. Have no idea what the difference is.

Post Reply