Page 1 of 1

Vertical levels in WRF EMS

Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:40 am
by Antonix
Hello everyone
I have a question to ask.
as you change the vertical levels (and their distribution) with DWIZ??
You can do this??

Re: vertical levels

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:24 am
by dwillson88
Hi,

You cant change the vertical levels in the dwiz, but you can go to wrfems/conf/ems_run and go to the run_levels.conf folder. In there you can specify the vertical levels by either number of levels or you can directly specify the height of each level in eta coordinates (similar to sigma, terrain following with msl as a reference pressure).

Hope that helps.

Cheers,

David

Re: vertical levels

Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:09 pm
by dwillson88
Hi guys,

Whilst on the subject of levels does anyone know the eta coordinates for the standard 45 level configuration. I am wanting to keep most levels the same but make them finer close to the ground in the hope of better resolving the wind speed and direction. Or if anyone knows a set of good well representative eta coordinates.

Thanks,

David

Re: Vertical levels in WRF EMS

Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:27 pm
by Antonix
Hello everyone

I ask myself some questions ...
vore improve the forecasting of wind and soil temperature ...
Using a model to 5 km resolution, 45 vertical levels ... 168 h simulation, NMM core
MBJ + thomson (3.1 wrf)
I thought to increase levels to 55 and vertical thickening of the ground.
I have created with precision for dwiz and copied by hand in the file run_level.conf

do you think is a good idea??

you have other ideas for improving these parameters??

Re: Vertical levels in WRF EMS

Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:00 am
by meteoadriatic
Hello, soil temperature would not be affected by number of vertical levels. It will mostly be influenced by short and long wave radiation schemes.

Raising vertical level density will help somewhat in low level temperature and wind predicting.

If you need higher resolutions, I would recommend ARW core. With ARW you can also try different SW/LW radiation schemes and tune them little bit by some parameters...

Re: Vertical levels in WRF EMS

Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 3:26 pm
by jpb
Hi

I've investigated the same test, but, when I've tried to modify levels in run_levels.conf, I didn't succeed in having the modified levels into the grib1 or grib2 files after modelling.
How can I check if it is ok in wrfout files, before searching into the wrfpost process.

Regards,
JPB

Re: Vertical levels in WRF EMS

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:51 am
by Nick7K
This thread is the closest I have found to my question.

How do we find the eta levels for the standard 45 levels?

Re: Vertical levels in WRF EMS

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 8:42 am
by meteoadriatic
Hi, in EMS there is file run_levels.conf where you can read about how to define exact levels heights if you want. If you don't define, program real will distribute them automatically.

If EMS is not used, namelist entry for that option is eta_levels.

Re: Vertical levels in WRF EMS

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 7:36 pm
by Nick7K
Thank you. Yes, I understand that.

My question is whether there is a way to find out what the automatic levels are.