Naive questions - input and output grib frequency

Forum dedicated to older versions of EMS package (WRFEMS v3.2, v3.1 or older). Support is user-to-user based, so please help others if you can.
himoon

Naive questions - input and output grib frequency

Post by himoon » Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:08 pm

I'm sorry, I'm very very new with WRF, I've run little more than the standard example explained at official on-line tutorial... Looking at this example I saw that they only took one day of initial values, I mean, five GRIB files. Is this standard?, How many initial GRIB files do you usually need?

Where do you specify the time of the output?, Can you get several outputs at different times?, How many?, Where do you specify it?

If I need to give a prediction at t = 6 or 12 hours of the initial values at 3 nested domains with sizes 500000 km², 100000 km² and 100 km² and resolutions 1º, 10' and 30'' respectively, How many initial GRIB files do you usually need?.

Thank you very much!!!

meteoadriatic

Re: Naive questions

Post by meteoadriatic » Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:20 pm

himoon wrote:I'm sorry, I'm very very new with WRF, I've run little more than the standard example explained at official on-line tutorial... Looking at this example I saw that they only took one day of initial values, I mean, five GRIB files. Is this standard?, How many initial GRIB files do you usually need?
You will have to explain this better, because I can't understand what you asked, sorry. Please give us link to that example.
himoon wrote:Where do you specify the time of the output?, Can you get several outputs at different times?, How many?, Where do you specify it?