Cluster project

Looking for new hardware to run WRF? Intel or AMD? Check this forum.
Post Reply
Antonix
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Cluster project

Post by Antonix » Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:05 am

Hello everyone.
I am about to purchase a cluster and I need some advice.
I would like to buy 35 computers (1 intel i7-2600K - 8 gb ram - hdd 1tb)
3com switch 1Gigabyte 1.

you think the WRF EMS can work on all these machines??
I perform well??

you have better ideas?!

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1601
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Cluster project

Post by meteoadriatic » Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:37 pm

Hi,

it should, but I'm pretty sure that gigabit network won't be able to hold this up to speed.

Antonix
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: Cluster project

Post by Antonix » Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:43 pm

sorry!
is not 1Gigabyte
Switch 10000 Mbps


currently on my domain
Resolution 6 km
time 168h
2 8-core AMD Opteron
simulation time 9 hours ...

I need to get to 2.5-3 km using about 5 hours!
with the same configuration

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1601
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Cluster project

Post by meteoadriatic » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:16 pm

10GB/s that is much better. Pay attention to set fast disk system on master node. Preferably with hi-end hardware RAID controller and multiple fast disk drives, because all computers will dump data on master disks simultaneously.

I have really no idea how fast that will be.

Antonix
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: Cluster project

Post by Antonix » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:21 pm

Thanks!

usually doubling the resolution (6 -> 3 km) quadruples the time ...!!!
anyway thanks a lot!

WRF EMS has no limits or problems right?!

I'll know how I continue!

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1601
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Cluster project

Post by meteoadriatic » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:44 pm

Antonix wrote:WRF EMS has no limits or problems right?!
I don't know. If that is lot of investment, I recommend that you first ask Robert for his advice.

Antonix
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:53 am

Re: Cluster project

Post by Antonix » Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:08 pm

Hello meteoadriatic
Hello to everyone

I thought I'd continue on the structure that I have ...

I have an HP server rack 2cpu 8-core opteron 6128

I would like to purchase two machines cpu OF 2 (or 4) Opteron 6128
mounting the same amount of RAM on each machine
same processor but different motherboard

do you / you are compatible in a cluster or there would be traffic delays??

meteoadriatic
Posts: 1601
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Cluster project

Post by meteoadriatic » Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:39 pm

Not understood completely. But keep this rule in mind - all machines should be the same processing power. If not, you will likely have problems. The slowest node will slow down whole cluster more than you can imagine. Really match all nodes in your cluster so they all have the same number and type of CPUs.

If only motherboards are different but number/type of CPUs is the same on every node, it should be OK.

beowrf
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:07 pm

Re: Cluster project

Post by beowrf » Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:11 pm

Hey there,

I would even recommend you setting up a RAM-Disk (huge one, of course) on your master node to limit I/O problems.

Cheers,

J

Post Reply